Skip to content

Christmas Tradition #7

December 17, 2010
tags:

I don’t know if this is a tradition or a chore.
I’m listening to you. Watching ‘Miracle on 34th Street’, drinking eggnog and eating gingerbread while I wrap.

I remember going to Eaton’s department store after Christmas to buy our wrapping paper for the next year. 

I remember mom teaching us how to wrap a present. The secret of measuring and how to fold the corners.

I remember, ‘Save the wrapping paper!’, folding it carefully to use over, and over, and over. 

When gift bags started to show up on the market I remember reusing them too.There was one with a beautiful cat in the foreground and a frosted window and perfect winter wonderland in the distance. Even gift tags were reused or made out of old Christmas cards. If you were born after 1975 you have no idea what I’m talking about.

So now the big debate: Wrapped Parcel or Gift Bag

I admit, I do love the look of a parcel under the tree and I know some pretty amazing gift wrappers. I have been privileged to receive a parcel or two that I really didn’t want to ruin by opening – they were works of art.

I wish I loved wrapping. I admit that I now lean towards the gift bag. Easy to store and a beautiful variety available, often with matching tissue!  Best of all, very, very easy to reuse. There is a particularly good Loonie Plus at Brentwood with an excellent selection.

So what’s your vote? Parcel or Bag?

P.S. I can’t believe I’ve never watched ‘Miracle on 34th Street’!  It was sooo good!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. saumil permalink
    December 24, 2010 10:24 am

    ive heard about ‘Miracle on 34th Street’, but i guess ill watch it this weekend

    • December 25, 2010 2:12 pm

      I watched the original black and white – it was really good!Now I’m wondering which other goodies I’ve missed!

Leave a Reply

