Skip to content

Christmas Tradition #6

December 16, 2010

The Great Balancing Act
It’s the middle of December, you’re trying to wrap up work, shopping, gifts, cards plus find a little time to actually get inthe Christmas Spirit when it hits you. There is life after Christmas. Particularly the kind of life that requires bills to be paid.
Time to reel it all in, hold the reins and take charge of your charges.
I’ve received that little email reminder that my statement is ready, best not to ignore it.
It’s not as bad as I feared. I have really tried to re-focus the gift giving and the holiday is just as wonderful and January is better than ever with no big bills showing up.
I’m still in good shape for the best kind of giving – charitable giving.
I’ve been doing pretty good with that too – giving a small amount each month to Aunt Leah’s and my Alumni Bursary fund is so easy and I don’t even notice the amount coming out of my account. Kiva and Welcome Home are also part of my regular routine.
I always make sure to budget for a ‘Hope in Shadows’ calendar,and some change for the Salvation Army bells.

With charitable giving I can get that Christmas feeling all year-long.

What about you? Which charity are you giving to this season? I’d love to hear about it.

And if you’ve never made a donation before I challenge you to give this season – even if it’s only $5.00 to the food bank. Every little bit helps.

Tis the Season for giving!

http://www.auntleahs.org/

http://hopeinshadows.com/

http://www.welcomehomesociety.org/

http://www.kiva.org/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

