Skip to content

Christmas Tradition #5

December 15, 2010

Cards!

Every year I say, ‘I’ve got too much on my plate. I’m not sending cards!’

Then I get the first Christmas card in the mail. That was today. It was a beautiful hand-made card with a personal letter. Not a photocopy of a letter that is sent to everyone, a personal letter. Oh man. Now I HAVE to send one back.
And if I send that, well maybe I’ll send a just a few more….
 I’ll only send cards to the over 80’s in my life.

And a few out-of-towners and that’s it! No more. I’m done.

This is how we make ourselves crazy.
I just need to let it go. Accept the lovely card and do nothing.

It just feels kinda rude not to send a return card.

Well you know what I’m doing now? That’s right. I’m going to the store to buy some Christmas cards. I should just buy them in November, send them out and be done with it. Now I’ll be up for hours, resentment battling guilt and guilt will win. I’ll send cards.

I got the shock of my life at the post office today. I’m going to pick up stamps and because I know I’m going, I get this brilliant idea to mail a small package to some dear friends in New Zealand. Some Maple syrup, Purdy’s chocolate, mittens and some Gingerbread (since I do have a few kicking around).
I’ve never had to mail many christmas parcels, but I packaged and sealed it well, labelled it clearly and off I went.
I arrive at the counter. ‘I’d like a book of Canadian stamps and I’d like to mail this package’.
‘Would you like it to arrive by Christmas?’
‘Yes please’.
‘That will be $72.34’
What!!!!!!!
After I picked myself up off the floor, I’ve settled for after Christmas, by ship for $22.
I’m thinking from now on I’ll just send cards and then I won’t get these last-minute lame-brained ideas.
You know? Those Christmas frenzy ideas?
Never a good idea.

Now to finish my cards so I can mail them tomorrow. Next year no cards and no parcels!
Do you send cards?

One Comment leave one →
  1. saumil permalink
    December 24, 2010 10:27 am

    hahahaha – Calling folks is better for my diwali – cards is way too much.

Leave a Reply

