Skip to content

Christmas Tradition #4

December 14, 2010

Christmas Music.
Many Vancouverites sacrifice space to live in this fantastic city which means storage and storage lockers.
I’m done with storage lockers. If it can’t fit in my tiny home, I probably don’t need it. However, that means a very creative use of the space under my bed, my desk and the upper reaches of my one closet.
Now that I am fortified with a little eggnog, I’ve bolstered my courage to face the dust bunnies. The Christmas stuff is at the very back ’cause it only gets used once a year. I drag every storage box and vacuum packed bag of summer coats and clothes, shimmy under the frame, stretch and reach the Christmas boxes.
Buried in these precious chests should be my collection of Christmas tunes!
Should.
Hmmmmm.
Frak I was sure they were there.
I pack it back up and ferret it all away. Time to face the boxes under the desk. Thirty minutes later and crap, not here either. I think back to two years ago and…. ding! I remembered putting them somewhere easy to get at! Sure enough, safely stored in a little zip up cd binder easily accessed on my book shelf!
Some of my favourites listed below:
‘The Bells of Dublin’ by the Chieftains
Super campy PolyTel 3 CD set ‘Christmas Wonderland’ – it has everything from Pavarotti’s ‘Ave Maria’, Ella Fitzgerald ‘ What are you Doing New Year’s Eve’ and ‘A Spaceman Came Travelling’ by Chris De Burgh. Yup – it’s got it all!

My friend Mitchell Kezin is making a documentary on Christmas Music ‘Jingle Bell Rocks Doc’ and every year he has an amazing Christmas Party.  One of the most sought after door prizes at his party is a compilation CD of Christmas Music you’ve never heard of before.  I was lucky enough to win one year and it is now in my top three favourite Christmas CD’s.  Favourite song on the album, ‘Truckin’ Trees for Christmas’ by Red Simpson.

Of course I like the classics, ‘White Christmas’ by Bing Crosby and ‘Mary’s Boy’ by Bonny M but the odd stuff really tickles my Christmas funny bone.

Got a favourite Christmas Carol?  I’d love to hear about it!

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/group.php?gid=19046144624

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=Chris+de+burgh+spaceman&docid=395880105523&mid=4BCFA80B9CE67E22F28C4BCFA80B9CE67E22F28C&FORM=VIRE3#

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7-4GC828rM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wda9GrH4eXQ

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Elaine permalink
    December 17, 2010 9:44 am

    Hi Kim! Mitchell was very pleased to hear this!

  2. Tiffany permalink
    December 23, 2010 2:51 pm

    Hi! I think you might be my savior this Christmas. I’ve been looking everywhere for info on that Polytel 3 CD set – my parents bought it several years ago and we listen to it EVERY YEAR, but they lost the first disc! Could you tell me the track listing for it? I haven’t been able to find a new copy (or the whole set) anywhere, but I would like to download the songs for my dad! My email is above 🙂 Thank you so much in advance!

    • NormD permalink
      December 24, 2011 4:41 pm

      Tiffany:
      See post below on Christmas Tradition #4 re CD#1 tracks
      Norm 2011-11-23

  3. saumil permalink
    December 24, 2010 10:31 am

    Two words strike out for me. Unfortunately not the carols. Storage and Documentary. I’ve been moving quite a bit and carrying em things is a pain – so I calculate depreciation values: old t-shirts and papers go – it way cheaper to buy new ones and scan the sheets. Documentary – Now I dont have that creative bend, but I sure have the time and space in NYC for doing something of the sort. FB some ideas at your convenience please $$

  4. NormD permalink
    December 23, 2011 7:45 pm

    @Tiffany – one year later!
    I stumbled across your post while looking for the album art (cover) for this PolyTel CD set. I have the mp3s from a compilation CD I was given recently.
    Here is the tunes on CD#1
    1 Vanessa Williams – Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
    2 Aaron Neville – Please Come Home for Christmas
    3 Boyz II Men – Let it Snow
    4 Bryan Adams – Christmas Time
    5 Beach Boys – Little Saint Nick
    6 Shakin’ Stevens – Merry Christmas Everyone
    7 Chris De Burgh – A Spaceman Came Travelling
    8 Jethro Tull – Ring Out Solstice Bell
    9 Emerson,Lake & Palmer – I Believe in Father Christmas
    10 Mike Oldfield – In Dulci Jubilo
    11 Amy Grant – O Come All Ye Faithful

    Hope you see this
    Norm

  5. Tiffany permalink
    January 9, 2012 12:23 pm

    Thank you so much! I didn’t catch it in time for this Christmas but these tunes never go out of style 🙂

Leave a Reply

