Skip to content

Christmas Tradition #3

December 13, 2010

Eggnog.

When you think of the ingredients it’s kind of, a heart attack waiting to happen: cream, sugar, beaten raw eggs. Well I can’t resist. I typically do a little calorie counting in November to make room on my waistline for some holiday indulgence that includes a generous portion of eggnog.
I’m not a huge fan of the classic rum and eggnog, I prefer scotch. I love to really dress up my chai tea with some frothy warm nog and have you ever tried it on your porridge? Granted you have to be a weirdo like me and actually like porridge but it’s really, really good. Oh, and French Toast made with eggnog in the batter – delicious!  How about pudding? Instant vanilla pudding with half milk and half eggnog – mmmmmmm.
My favourite brand is the Safeway Select Gourmet Eggnog but I confess I haven’t sampled every brand available.
How about you?
How do you like your Nog?

http://bing.search.sympatico.ca/?q=how%20to%20make%20eggnog&mkt=en-ca&setLang=en-CA

p.s. I’m writing this on the commercial breaks for  ‘The Grinch who Stole Christmas’!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    December 13, 2010 9:50 pm

    Wow you have given me some great ideas! We are real eggnog lovers in my family but we just normally have it in a glass with nutmeg on top. Other than occasionally putting it in coffee, I never thought to try cooking with it.

    By the way, I eat porridge every morning for breakfast so you are not the only weirdo 🙂

  2. December 13, 2010 10:43 pm

    Mmmmmm porridge! Can’t wait to hear how your eggnog cooking experiments turn out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

