Skip to content

Christmas Tradition #2

December 12, 2010

Watch Christmas movies.
After rolling, cutting, baking and decorating 154 Gingerbread men there was a definite need to relax with a good Christmas movie.
Watching Christmas movies is a big part of my yearly tradition and today I started the ball rolling with one of my recent favourites. I’m a huge fan of film maker Nancy Meyer, and her Christmas movie, ‘The Holiday’ is a must every year. It’s a great modern story for single, urban girls and a good place to start the holiday movie countdown.
Next is ‘Love Actually’. Yup, I like romantic comedy and Emma Thompson shines in this film.
‘The Ref’ – Denis Leary and Kevin Spacey. I think people forget that this is a Christmas film. The scene where the family wears the swedish wreaths with candles on their heads is hilarious. This film makes your dysfunctional family seem very, very normal.
The original and always classic ‘The Grinch who Stole Christmas’. It never fails to make me cry and if I’m really struggling to get into the Christmas Spirit, this film never fails.
Lastly, ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’. I can’t remember the first time I watched this film but I also can’t remember not watching it.

This is the short list of absolutely must watch.  Today as we played Christmas Trivia I realized there is one classic I’ve never seen, ‘Miracle on 34th Street’. Question after question about this film so I’m starting to think it must be important.  I’m going to check it out next weekend to see if it’s worth adding to my yearly roster.

I’m a big fan of the stop/animation films  ‘Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer’ and ‘Santa Claus is Comin to Town’ by Arthur Rankin and Jules Bass and I depend on the CBC to air them each year.  Love the Winter Warlock and the Burgermeister.

Sense memory is a great thing and watching these films allows the magic to seep into my pores. By the end of my Christmas film fest I’m ready for the holidays!

So, how about you? Which films am I missing? What’s on your ‘must see’ Christmas roster?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rudolph_The_Red_Nosed_Reindeer

http://www.sonypictures.com/homevideo/theholiday/

http://www.universalstudiosentertainment.com/love-actually/

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0110955/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/It%27s_a_Wonderful_Life

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bill Marchant permalink
    December 12, 2010 10:59 pm

    warlock and burgermeister! i love them too.

  2. Cousin Lori permalink
    December 13, 2010 9:18 am

    I love both of your Christmas posts!!! My Christmas list is very similar to yours, but my all time favourite is White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney.
    Will have to give The Ref a try!

  3. December 13, 2010 7:07 pm

    A must see, I Ingmar Bergman’s Franny and Alexander…. 240 plus minutes of traditional Swedish fanfare and humour just in time for the holidays…!

    • December 13, 2010 9:08 pm

      4 hours! Who has 4 hours at Christmas time to watch one film! Do you watch it every year?

Leave a Reply

