Skip to content

The Lottery: Part Two

August 3, 2010

Yup. I still haven’t won. But no one else has either. Another week with a 50 million jackpot so here’s part 2, the boring part of what I’m doing with the other 25 million (See part one for the other half).
First of all, I don’t think being a dilettante is healthy for anyone and although the idea of me not working at all for the rest of my life does have its appeal on bad days, it probably won’t turn out very well in the end. So let’s start giving it away. I decided to give to my blood relatives and let them worry about their spouses. I created a little formula for how far removed (1st cousins, 2nd cousins) and I’m giving away $2,350,000 to various aunts, uncles and cousins. Enough to give everyone a boost but not change their life – everyone needs to work. To my immediate family 10 million. Enough to substantially change the quality of their life but they’ll still need to work and won’t have to awkwardly ask me for money. For various friends, god-daughters etc 2100000. You get the drill, a leg up but no one is going to go crazy. You’re starting to see I’m a bit of a control freak huh?
So remember I’ve already given away 25 million of the 50 million to my ‘pet project’. Here is the rest of my charitable giving:

50,000 a year for 25 years to one of my favourite Charities, Aunt Leah’s Society (1,250, 000)

50,000 a year for 25 years to one of my new favourite charities, Welcome Home (1,250,000)

50,000 a year for 25 years to help fund independent film and theatre projects (1,250,000)

25,000 a year to various miscellaneous charities for 25 years (625000)

Although technically not a charity, I would set up a fund for my family reunions – we have so much fun at them! And it will keep us all grounded! (250000)

If you’ve been doing the math and following along that leaves about 5 million for me. Yup of the 50 million I figure I would like to keep about 10% for me.  I’ll still have to work but maybe I can retire early, travel and have a bit of breathing space.

So if the lottery gods are listening, how about it?  I’ve got some good ideas here!

I would really love to hear what other people would do with 50 million.  I’m sure there are some great philanthropists out there! Or maybe you have a suggestion for one of the other 25 charities I will give to?

http://www.welcomehomesociety.org/Donations.php

http://www.auntleahs.org/aboutus.html

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    August 12, 2010 10:52 pm

    after reading that, even I want you to win the lottery.

Leave a Reply

